Podcast: Comprehensive Beatdown hosted by Bloggy Bonilla (of KeyB2Lock) and Silent G (of Elegant Trainwreck Records)


Bloggy Bonilla and Silent G host the inaugural episode of “Comprehensive Beatdown,” a podcast to shine light on new music. In this week’s episode, the...

Lester Sanchez channels several emotions on the “Mental Notes” EP
The Rougish Gent Livecast Talks Hip Hop In Jackson with Special Guest Porschia Cooper
The Sound MS Artist Showcase

Bloggy Bonilla and Silent G host the inaugural episode of “Comprehensive Beatdown,” a podcast to shine light on new music. In this week’s episode, the guys break down “B4.DA.$$” from Joey Bada$$. A track from the new Aphex Twin EP is discussed as well as “Blacker the Berry,” Kendrick Lamar’s most recent single release. “Comprehensive Beatdown” introduces its segment entitled “Shitty Songs From our Friends,” where a horrible song is selected by a local Jackson artist, musician, or business owner, and submitted to the podcast for review. DJ Young Venom submitted something called “Honey Dip” and the guys listen to it for the first time on the podcast. The episode is wrapped up with a look at a song from Jackson hip hop artist Dolla Black. Thanks for tuning in.

This week on Comprehensive Beatdown, Bloggy Bonilla and Silent G listen to and discuss “The Ecology,” Fashawn’s sophomore album on Mass Appeal. The guys abandon some of their normal segments to focus on artists who are on the bill for Blender 6, Jackson’s favorite genre-mash-up show, which is put on by Elegant Trainwreck Productions and Homework Town Records (Silent G is a co-owner of both).

Come see Silent G DJ at Offbeat on March 12. Opening for AF the Naysayer. 9 PM. $5.

Check out Blender 6 at Offbeat (151 Wesley Ave.) on March 14th. 8 PM. $5. Featuring Tim Lee 3, Jackals, Passing Parade, Brik a Brak, and Tyler Keith.

Tim Lee 3: timleethree.com/
Jackals: keyb2lock.com/tag/jackals/
Passing Parade: www.elegant-trainwreck.com/
Brik a Brak: girlgrabbers.bandcamp.com/
Tyler Keith: www.cdbaby.com/cd/tylerkeith

Find Silent G and Bloggy Bonilla on Twitter.
Follow Bloggy Bonilla’s blog keyb2lock.com/

Go to soundcloud.com/dopemedianetwork to follow more great podcasts from our friends.

On this week’s episode of Comprehensive Beatdown, www.soundcloud.com/bloggybonilla (aka Lenny Dykstra) and Silent G (aka Spike Nolan) listen to and discuss “Sour Soul,” the new collaborative album from Ghostface Killah x BADBADNOTGOOD. They also check out new tracks from www.soundcloud.com/sareem_poems & www.soundcloud.com/essbemvsic and THEESatisfaction. The track for the “Shitty Tracks From Our Friends” segment this week comes from a mysterious man named Dawg, who provided a very terrible piece of music. The local track this week, “Plastic,” comes from Jackson singer-songwriter Cody Cox, who just last week released his newest solo album, “Leave a Trace” on Elegant Trainwreck/Homework Town Records.

Check out Cody Cox at www.elegant-trainwreck.com & soundcloud.com/eleganttrainwreck
Check out Sareem Poems & Ess Be’s album “Beautiful Noise” on Illect Recordings dropping March 31st www.illect.com/ & www.soundcloud.com/illect